Posted on 1 Comment

Smudging & Palo Santo

Smudging is one of my most favourite things. It’s part of my daily ritual – and one some particularly trying days I do it multiple times. I even smudged myself before writing this post. Smudging is a great way to clear your crystals which is something that is extremely important to do. Smudging is when you essentially burn something – usually herbs, incense or wood like Palo Santo – and use the smoke to cleanse and clear a room, an object or yourself.

Palo Santo Smudging | Golden Blue

It is said that smudging will purify a space, clear low vibrations and get rid of bad energies. It also gives us a pause in our day to be present and focused on that moment. Before I do any sort of ceremony such as a moon ritual or card pulling or before I start a new project, I love to smudge myself to clear off everything that I was holding so that I can then be focused on the now. Whenever I get frustrated – whether it be from dealing with a difficult client or simply having a bad day – a good smudging always turns my mood around. It is the most simple and inexpensive way to change your mindset.

White sage bundles are often used for smudging. I like them but often people find their scent much too strong. Because of this, my favourite tool for smudging is Palo Santo. The scent is more subtle and it immediately brings me back to a calm place. Palo Santo is a tree that grows in South America and its name literally translates to English as Holy Wood. This tree is related to Frankincense which is no surprise. I am sure that many of you have attended a Catholic church ceremony when Frankincense incense and a whole lot of smoke is swung down the aisle. That smell instantly changes how you are feeling. Palo Santo sticks are available at most health and crystal shops these days. Our pal Kerry at Red Sky also has them in her shop.

To smudge using Palo Santo, simply hold up a flame to the end until the wood catches fire. Once you see an ember, blow out the flame. For smudging myself, I like to close my eyes, take a deep breath and then move the smoke in slow circles around my body – from top (crown chakra) to the bottoms of my feet. When smudging a room, I do the same, working all walls of the room and around any doorways. To smudge my crystals, I like to swirl the smoke around each stone, essentially bathing them in it. Before we pack up any Golden Blue orders, we take the time to smudge the products with Palo Santo. We feel that by doing this, we are clearing their energy and making them ready for their new home.

Smudging is a ritual that I love giving time to and really enjoy.


Posted on

The Chakras System


We have been asked by many about just what the heck chakras are and how they relate to our own selves so we thought that it would be useful to do a little post about them. In simple terms, chakras are energy centres in our body. There are seven major chakras that run through our body and each represent a different aspect to our lives and bodies. When our chakras are aligned, we feel our best selves. When one or two (or many!) are out of wack, we definitely feel it!

The seven major chakras that we focus on at Golden Blue are: Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye and Crown. These energy centres line up from our tailbone to the top of our head.

There is a lot that can be said for each chakra. You could literally explore each for hours and still not get far. Having said that, I wanted to give you some basic information about each of the seven major chakras.

The Root Chakra is our base and it is located basically where our tailbone resides. It’s our home, our security, our stability, what we need to survive. It is your right to be here. The colour that this chakra is represented by is red.

The Sacral Chakra is located in your lower abdomen, a couple of inches below your belly button. This chakra is our sexuality, our creativity, our emotions, our needs, our pleasures. This chakra is your right to feel and orange is the colour it represents.

The Solar Plexus is our power centre. It is located in our abdomen above the belly button. This chakra is all about personal power, self-esteem and confidence. It is your right to act. Yellow represents the Solar Plexus.

The fourth chakra is a big one: the Heart Chakra. It is the centre of all of the chakras. The heart is the chakra that relates to love, healing and relationships. It is your right to love and green is its colour.

The Throat Chakra is represented with blue. This chakra is all about communication, being heard and learning to listen. It’s about finding your own voice. It is your right to speak.

The Third Eye is the sixth chakra and it is located between your eyebrows at the bridge of your nose. This chakra works with your intuition, insights, imagination, dreams and visions. It is your right to see and indigo represents this chakra.

The final chakra is the Crown Chakra. It is located on top of your head (and beyond!). This chakra is all about higher power, divinity and your belief system. It is your right to know and is the colour of violet.

If you want to learn more about chakras, a great book to gain more insight is Eastern Body Western Mind by Anodea Judith. I have read it multiple times and every time, something different sticks out to me. I find myself nodding along in agreement and can often pick out characteristics of people in my life as I read along. At the risk sounding cheesy, the more you learn about chakras, the more fascinating life truly becomes. As well, if you are in Toronto, Shawna Turner is an incredible teacher for this topic (and so much more!). She runs Women’s Circles out of her home in Parkdale and I am not exaggerating by saying that participating in them will change your life! Her next Chakra Circle begins October 11th and there is still some space left if you are interested. You can visit Shawna’s website for more information.